Book Review: Holy Hot Mess

Mary Katherine Backstrom's Holy Hot Mess can switch from laugh out loud funny to deep introspection to teary eyed all in the snap of your fingers. Her witty voice and relatable stories are perfect conduits for sharing her faith, reminding us that while we were fearfully and wonderfully made, we can still be a mess. [...]

Author Interview: Gold Spun’s Brandie June

Brandie June's novel, Gold Spun, absolutely swept me off of my feet. It's a whirlwind of a book, a Rumpelstiltskin retelling that is perfect for fans of Ella Enchanted and Once Upon A Time. You can read my full review here! I couldn't have been more excited when I was offered the opportunity to interview [...]

Book Review: The Last Guest

Tess Little's The Last Guest is a provocative mystery dripping with intrigue, perfect for armchair detectives. The morning after an elite Hollywood director's birthday party, he's found dead by his own party guests. When the police rule his death a murder, all eight guests are under suspicion. Each has a motive and opportunity-- who is [...]

Book Review: Gold Spun

Never fear, there are no spoilers here! *There is a trigger warning after the final image at the bottom of this post.* Brandie June's debut novel, Gold Spun, is a whirlwind of a read. This utterly enchanting novel swept me away to a world unlike anything I've ever imagined, with incredibly well developed characters in [...]

Book Review: Golden Girl

A lyrical coming of age story told in a verse, Golden Girl is sure to pull at your heart. Reem Faruqi's middle grade novel follows Aafiyah Qamar, a Pakastani-American seventh grader who loves tennis, her family (even her sometimes annoying baby brother), and reading Weird But True Facts. Sometimes she doesn't feel like she fits in, [...]

Book Review: Have We Met?

Camille Baker’s debut, Have We Met?, is a delightful read with a cast of memorable characters and a thought provoking look at grief and how it carves its own way through our lives. Corinne has recently moved back to Chicago, a city that was once her home during her childhood, and is trying to figure [...]

Book Review: When We’re Thirty

Casey Dembowski's novel When We're Thirty is an enchanting rom-com with thoroughly likable characters and a great premise. Hannah Abbott is a music journalist, working in her dream career and living her dream life in the city. Except in her dream, she had health insurance and a less obnoxious boyfriend. When Will Thorne, a close [...]

Book Review: The Invisible Husband of Frick Island

The Invisible Husband of Frick Island is an engrossing read that pulls you in from the first sentence and doesn’t let go. Colleen Oakley’s latest novel is full of flawed yet relatable characters in a unique and vividly described setting. Piper Parrish loves her husband, Tom; her island; and the sense of community she’s found [...]

Book Review: Radar Girls

Sara Ackerman’s Radar Girls is the Hawaii based historical fiction novel you’ve been waiting for, and it does not disappoint. With amazing character development, a nail-biting plot, and incredible details, this novel sweeps you back in time and claims your attention to the final sentence. The characters and setting are both the beating heart of [...]

Book Review: Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors

Sonali Dev’s Pride, Prejudice, and Other Flavors just became my favorite modern twist on Pride and Prejudice yet. I’ve been an Austen nerd since high school, and this twist did not disappoint! Trisha is a genius neurosurgeon with a wealthy family. DJ is an English immigrant of multiracial descent, barely scraping by with his career [...]